A Book Review of My Man Jeeves by P.G. Wodehouse

“It was a nasty look. It made me feel as if I were something the dog had brought in and intended to bury later on when he had time.”

I read this book in an app called “Serial Reader”. Basically, what the app does is provide you with “Issues” of books you choose so that you read them one bite at a time, each day while trying to keep a streak. Knowing me, I was absolutely sure I’ll commit to such a challenge, and I did. I picked up the first recommended book and my luck brought me to this hilarious masterpiece.
The book is divided into anecdotes and stories revolving around Bertie and his manservant Jeeves in the first half and a character called Reggie, presumably Bertie, in the second half.
I did enjoy the book throughout and laughed my ass off, but I missed Jeeves enormously in the second half. Mainly because he was what gave the story such a humorous taste. He is a man of many talents, the best of which is his supreme wit and awareness of everything that’s going on. If Google were a person, it would have been Jeeves. Bertie, on the other hand, is the absolute opposite. He often looks for trouble or trouble finds him, and with nothing to do, he looks for the help and numerous plots of Jeeves. In the second half of the book, we follow the misfortunes of Reggie. Even though the latter wasn’t as entertaining, it was more than satisfactory.

BTW, There is a show adaptation of this book, and indeed, the whole series starring Stephen Fry and Hugh Laurie as Jeeves and Wooster. It is as witty as the book itself. I discovered this show after reading a couple of stories in the book then when I resumed reading, I found myself unable to imagine the characters without having Fry and Hugh portraying them and I unquestionably loved it.

Mirrorpix
Stephen Fry and Hugh Laurie December 2001 Dressed as Jeeves and Wooster. Mirrorpix/Courtesy Everett Collection (MPWA3842683_2)

“For the first time in our long connection, I observed Jeeves almost smile. The corner of his mouth curved quite a quarter of an inch, and for a moment his eye ceased to look like a meditative fish’s.”

The book doesn’t have any points to make. It is just fun and entertaining. If you’re anything like me, it will make you chuckle and smile like an absolute idiot. Go ahead, give it a try, it is absolutely free and it belongs to the public domain.

Leave a Reply

